European Migration and Diversity

Post-Stockholm Task Force

The end of 2014 will also mark the end of the Stockholm Programme which has set the legislative and operational agenda in the area of freedom, security and justice for the last 5 years. After 15 years with the tradition of organising this policy area on the basis of quinquennial programmes (1999 Tampere; 2004 The Hague; 2009 Stockholm), the process and form will be different this time around.

Indeed, since the entry into force of the Lisbon Treaty in December 2009, the new Article 68 grants the European Council a key role in defining the strategic guidelines in the policy fields related to the area of freedom, security and justice.

In this new context, the key question is: what will the post-Stockholm phase look like?

Task Force

In order to find some relevant answers, the EPC set up the “Post-Stockholm Programme Task Force” at the end of 2012. The Task Force, composed of a select group of high-level stakeholders, met five times in 2013 with the aim of informing the discussions taking place in the run-up to 2014.

The five meetings were structured as follows:

  1. Kick-off meeting: to define the need, form and content of the future strategic guidelines
  2. Thematic workshop 1: immigration and asylum
  3. Thematic workshop 2 : internal security
  4. Thematic workshop 3: justice
  5. Thematic workshop 4: horizontal issues including the external dimension, data protection, fundamental rights and evaluation


  • January 2014, Discussion Paper summarising the Task Force's findings with policy recommendations, "Addressing mobility, protection and effectiveness in the long run".

EPC publications

  • July 2013, mid-term Information Paper, “The Stockholm Programme: what’s next?” for the informal JHA Ministers meeting which took place in early July in Vilnius under the Lithuanian Presidency.

Activities related to the Task Force

On the basis of the work performed within the Task Force, the EPC has been invited to take part in several meetings to discuss the Future of the area of freedom, security and justice


 3 December 2013 - Social Platform


  • 1 April 2014: "Security and integration. A new programme for the development of the EU area of freedom, security and justice", Conference organised by the College of Europe, Natolin
  • 2 April 2014: "The EU's New Home Affairs Agenda: The CEE's Moment?" Conference organised by the Polish Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Polish Institute for International Affairs, European Commission

 PISM 2 April 2014 Conference


Task Force participants

Stephan Auer - European External Action Service
Rosa Balfour - European Policy Centre
Luigi Berlinguer - Member of European Parliament
Pierre Berthelet - Researcher
Therese Blanchet - Council Legal Service
Jakub Boratyński - European Commission
Marco Borraccetti - University of Bologna
Hugo Brady - Centre for European Reform
Israel Butler - Open Society European Institute
Gennaro Capo - Permanent Representation of Italy to the EU
Åsa Carlander - Permanent Representation of Sweden to the EU
Mugurel Chivu - Permanent Representation of Romania to the EU
Liz Collett - Migration Policy Institute - Europe
Oronzo Console - Permanent Representation of Italy to the EU
Raquel Correia - Permanent Representation of Portugal to the EU
Jean-Louis De Brouwer - European Commission
Mieneke De Ruiter - Permanent Representation of the Netherlands to the EU
Marianne Dony - Université Libre de Bruxelles
Leila El-Fahimi - European Commission
Lut Fabert-Goossens - European External Action Service
Carlo Ferrari - Permanent Representation of Italy to the EU
Bruno Frans - Police Judiciaire Fédérale of Belgium
Janusz Gąciarz - Permanent Representation of Poland to the EU
Madeline Garlick - United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Brussels Office
Roland Genson - Council Secretariat
Evelina Gudzinskaité - Permanent Representation of Lithuania to the EU
Peter Hustinx - European Data Protection Supervisor
Alex Lazarowicz - European Policy Centre
Richárd Leyrer - Permanent Representation of Hungary to the EU
Filip Jasiński - Polish Ministry of Foreign Affairs
Jean Lambert - Member of European Parliament
Maciej Lewandowski - Permanent Representation of Poland to the EU
Tautginas Mickevičius - Permanent Representation of Lithuania to the EU
Etienne Pataut - Université de Paris I Panthéon-Sorbonne
Steve Peers - University of Essex
Philippe Percier - European External Action Service
Kris Pollet - European Council on Refugees and Exiles
Annabelle Roig Granjon - United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees, Brussels Office
Richard Szostak - European Commission
Raoul Ueberecken - Permanent Representation of Luxembourg to the EU
Constança Urbano de Sousa - Universidade Autónoma de Lisboa
Karen Vandekerckove - European Commission
Ann Vanhout - European External Action Service
Wouter Van de Rijt - Council Secretariat
Anne Weyembergh - Université Libre de Bruxelles

In this programme